Inauguration of St. Catwg Ministry Area

May 11, 2015

On Sunday 19th April the Brecon Archdeaconry’s first Ministry Area St. Catwg’s (Crickhowell) celebrated the beginning of a new journey. On a bright April morning over 200 people filled St. Catwg’s Church in Llangattock to join in worship and to mark the first formal step in becoming a Ministry Area. The service was led by Bishop John – who was delighted by the sense of a new beginning. Mr. Geoff Davies, the Lay Chair of the Deanery Conference, said, “The atmosphere today was wonderful to witness”. Eight  parishes will work together to become St. Catwg’s Ministry Area. They are Brynmawr; Crickhowell, Tretower and Cwmdu; Gilwern; Llangattock and Llangynidir; and the Vale of Grwyne Churches. The Revd. Barry Letson, the Ministry Area Leader commented, “A cracking service! We are glad to get officially started –looking forward to the challenges and opportunities”.